St. JOSEPH'S COLLEGE (AUTONOMOUS), TIRUCHIRAPPALLI – 620 002, TAMIL NADU

St. Joseph's College is an Autonomous (1978) College affiliated to Bharathidasan University and dedicated to the cause of higher education since 1844. The college, situated in Tiruchirappalli, is run by the Jesuits and owned by the Society of St. Joseph's, and registered under Societies Regulation Act (1860). St. Joseph's College is a private, aided, Christian Minority Institution serving the society with the motto '*Pro Bono et Vero*' (for the Good and the True). It caters to the educational needs of wide and divergent sections of students through an inclusive approach with a marked emphasis on the poor and the downtrodden.

St. Joseph's College is a premier institute of learning with Five Star Status (2000), A⁺ (901/1000) Grade (2006), A (3.4/4.0) Grade (2012) and A++ (3.58/4.00) Grade (2019) awarded by NAAC. It is a pioneer in offering the outreach programme called SHEPHERD since 1986. It was recognized by the UGC as a College with Potential for Excellence (2004, 2014) and endowed with DST-FIST (2008,2014) and DBT-STAR (2014) status. St. Joseph's College is the only college in the State of Tamil Nadu awarded with the Special Heritage Status (2015) by the UGC. The UGC has recognised the college as a Mentee institution under the scheme of PARAMARSH (2019).

The college has a sprawling campus with state-of-the-art facilities, and offers innovative curricula, opportunities for holistic development and a highly disciplined and diversified environment for students to surpass in scholastic, non-scholastic and research pursuits. The college offers 15 Undergraduate, 18 Postgraduate, 13 M.Phil., and 14 Ph.D programmes besides 2 B.Voc. programmes. The college has a century-old Museum, Herbarium and Band, besides a library with 1, 77,000 volumes of books and 200 journals. It has a strong staff strength with 290 teaching and 135 non-teaching staff.

The college has produced eminent personalities like Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (Former President of India), Prof. G.N. Ramachandran (Renowned Physicist), Shri N. Gopalaswamy (Former Chief Election Commissioner), Major M. Saravanan (Indian Army, Vir Chakra Awardee) and Mr. Arokia Rajiv (Arjuna Awardee) and many more luminaries.